Ad Mag

Interview with Scott Piers

In Interview on January 4, 2009 at 11:44 pm

vgs-one

VGS – One  by Scott Piers

__________________

Scott Piers is a highly talented, digital artist who creates lyrical compositions of 3-d abstractions that seem to suggest dynamic, kinetic movement. And though he’s no stranger to the liberal usage of color, in his work, one finds that he often uses monochromatic pallets with elements of “light” reflection – adding a bit of fantasy and surrealism, which I’m inclined to  described as non-local cosmic projections.

scott-piers-n1

Ad Mag Interview:  Scott Piers

January 4th, 2008
Interview by Max Eternity

***

Max:  So Scott, first I want to thank you for taking the time to email/chat with me today. You are the first artist to be interviewed by my online digital art magazine – Art Digital Magazine, also known simply as Ad Mag. I discovered your work online some time ago.  I have an appreciation for what you do, and I’d like to ask a few questions:

Scott: Thank you Max. May I add that I am very impressed with your art work, and am thrilled you have created this digital art forum – Art Digital Magazine.  Also, I have read your guide to collecting digital art, Collecting Digital Prints. It is brilliant. Digital art and artists have needed this kind of enlightened support for a long time. I am grateful it is you, a talented artist yourself; who is spearheading this venture.

Max:  Well, you’re very kind to say those things.  Though there are others doing a commendable job at educating the public about the joy, process and profit of creating and collecting digital art…like the people at SIGGRAPH and like Larry Richards, the founder of Common Grounds.  Speaking of which, If I recall, you were selected as one of the artist chosen by the panel of curators to be featured there. Is that correct?

Scott:  Yes that is correct.  I’m included in the “Gifted Artist  Series” (my piece is toward the end of that gallery-like image number thirty-eight)

Max:  Excellent. Yes, my work is also in that same series, but I have to say that all the work on that site is great – very professional.  Larry and his associates have done an incredible job.  So, how long have you been an artist?

Scott:  I feel I was born an artist. My parents recognized my artistic abilities at a very early age. I was fortunate they were able and willing to begin my formal training very young. I will always be grateful they were willing to make personal sacrifices so I might always continue my artistic education. Aside from University, I was most influenced by my education at Interlochen (Interlochen MI), where I studied both Art and Drama.

Max:   Why art – what compels you to pursue this career over another?

Scott:  Well, it certainly isn’t for the money!  Pursuing art was a natural decision. No other career was ever an option. I don’t mean to mislead. I have always had other careers to insure a paycheck. Those careers have always been creative in nature. It would be optimum to be able to make a living strictly doing art, and that has always been a goal. I was able to manage this for the last 3 years, but something happened.  I am blaming it on the economy. Sales began to slow, and now I am scrambling to find a (creative) job to pay the bills. Art as a career will always be a wild ride!  Yet, no matter how unpredictable an art career may be, I can’t fathom doing anything else. Because of my present situation, my heart goes out to all Americans who are currently struggling to keep their lives on track. Sadly, many who never suspected will soon become members of this struggling class. God bless our new President (Barak Obama). Thank God he is our new President.

Max:  Sure, sure…a lot to consider.  As well, I suspect others can indentify. So, would you tell me now, who are some of your favorite artist?

Scott:  Oh, there are so many. I love all kinds of art. My favorites range from M.C. Escher to Charles and Ray Eames. If I had to list them it would go like this:
Gaudi, Frank Gehry, Escher, Calder The DaDa period, the Eames boys and the 50’s West [atomic-modernist] Coast style.

Max:  Wow, your range in taste helps to explain the dynamism expressed in your own work.  Yes, and Calder has to be one of my favorites as well.  So, have you heard of the TADAE creative subset; if so, any thoughts about it?

Scott:  Yes I have, It’s so post modern! Actually, I didn’t know how long we digital artists would have to wait until Art History determined the name for our artistic period. I think this “Today” (TADAE) is a marvelous definition for this new digital movement. It could also be pronounced “Ta-Da!”

Max:  Agreed, and too this, how would your describe your work?

Scott: Maybe the best way to describe my art would be to describe the process. I rarely create without being called to create. It doesn’t work for me to just sit down and start creating without “feeling it”. I always begin with an urge to start. I often drop what I am doing when I get this urge. I have been out with friends and left them, the creative urge was so strong. I also know when I am done with a piece. The urge subsides. This mind set is like a transcendental state. In other words, all the while I work, it is almost trance like. I feel good, centered and focused when I am in this mood, and don’t have to think much while I am riding the creative wave. Whatever I do works. It’s almost as if I am channeling from another place. It is truly a magnificent experience.

Max:  It’s interesting that you just said that because when drafted my little critique of your work, part of my assessment of what you do is that I perceive it as non-local cosmic projection.  But please continue…

Scott: Yes, I usually have ideas already in my head to start. I store them there when I am between creative urges. These ideas range from colors I want to use, shapes I want to use, or a feeling I want to express. I rarely end with a result that was born from these stored ideas. So in that sense, it is context from chaos. It’s getting a version of the original idea down, and allowing the discovery process to take that idea to a finished image. Basically I want to end user to look at my work, and have it speak to them long and hard enough to stop any negative speech they have going on their heads. If my imagery is strong enough to break the repetition of negative thought in the onlooker, then perhaps I have given them a chance to begin to flow positive energy out to the universe. This can only be good for us all.  Did I answer the question?

Max:  Perfectly.  You express yourself beautifully, and I imagine  you might make a wonderful stream-of-consciousness poet…reminiscent of the beat generation.  And now here’s a question for you, something that I think every serious-minded artist will have to contend with one time or another; the commercial gallery.  How have you fared in that respect?

Scott:  Commercial galleries still make me feel as if I am a pariah. I have given up trying to show in them. One can’t get much past the front door when you mention digital art.  I have done very well in contemporary furniture showrooms. Until a commercial gallery approaches me, I will remain an outcast. I can’t continue to subject myself to their kind of rejection.

Max:  Fair enough, and yet the maturity of your work seems to have flourished in spite of the walls of resistance you have encountered.  Still, I imagine that you must still have some specific career goals, not already achieved?

Scott:  In all honesty, my true artistic goal is to somehow make a positive difference in the world. I feel this is my artistic destiny, but am not sure how it will transpire. It would be optimum to become so wildly wealthy from my art, that I could practice philanthropy with reckless abandon. Still, I shall remain open; listening for direction being whispered from the corners. I believe I will make a difference artistically. Maybe I already have.

Max:  Absolutely, you most certainly have.  Your art is certainly a positive inspiration to me and now that I’ve had the chance to chat with you, I can say that your intellectual extrapolations have had the same impact….a very positive impact.  And finally, I have just one more question.  Looking ahead, how do you perceive the future of art, digital or otherwise?

Scott:  I certainly believe that digital art will have (already has had) an influence on traditional art in the respect that art is influenced by its environment. Digital art is here to stay. There is no turning back. It is only a matter of time before it is recognized by the art majority as a legitimate art medium. I can’t think of anything more exciting than the prospects for the future of the digital medium.

Max:  I couldn’t have said it better.  Well said, and again I sincerely appreciate you making the time to do this interview.

***

– Images of Scott Piers’ artwork can be found in the Ad Mag Artist Galleries and on his own website, where there is even more to see –

Leave a Reply

