Ad Mag

Dominic’s Bucolic Dreams

In Art, Feature, Interview on March 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm

The Lowlands

The Lowlands

_____________________________________________________________

Bucolic Dreams:

A Vue with Dominic Davidson

Interview by Max Eternity

_____________________________________________________________

Port Antonio

Port Antonio

***

Hello Dominic, welcome to AD Mag.

Hi, thanks for inviting me.

So, one day I was just surfing around the net, when I came across your art. I continued surfing, but over the next several days, I found myself revisiting your work. Could you tell us about how you got started? How long have you been painting?

I have been painting and drawing since I was about nine or ten years old, and have

always been a creative person. About five years ago I discovered Vue as a way of creating 3d environments, and I knew straight away it was the software for me. It’s relatively simple to use but with very powerful results. I do continue to paint and draw on paper, but digital art is where I get most enjoyment.

And about your style, the genre in which you work. What do you call it? It seems to draw on realism – Dutch realism? But you work with digital tools?

I am influenced by landscape paintings and photographs, mostly from the old masters such as Barend Cornelis KoekKoek, Claude Lorraine and Constable, amongst many others. I guess my work is a cross between Photography and fine art. Photoart I suppose you could call it. There is a fair amount of Photoshop painting, but I use Vue to do most of the hard work.

So what of this notion, that digital art isn’t really art? Obviously I don’t think this way, but there are others who do, many of them museum directors, and gallery owners. Any thoughts on this?

I get the impression that digital art is being taken more and more seriously. The quality of work out there is amazing, and just because it’s being done digitally, doesn’t mean it isn’t as valuable as traditional art. The graphics tablet has replaced the canvas, that’s all. We all start with a blank screen and ultimately have to create something from scratch. There isn’t a magic button that creates everything for you. The technology just gives you more options and features to work with.

I showed some of your work to my mother, who’s not the easiest to impress when it comes to art, and she said “I’d like to live there…I’d like to live in one of his scenes.” I feel the same way. There’s something about your work that is so inviting, beyond the typical bucolic attraction of landscape art, your work truly draws one in. You have such sensitivity to light, shading and texture. And really the composition, all of the elements within each piece seem perfectly placed? What’s your process?

I tend to build a scene in Vue, with buildings, trees etc, and adjust the lighting and atmosphere levels, which to me is the most important part of the scene. I then use Photoshop or Painter to iron out any areas that need fixing and also add extra detail to give the final image a more painterly feel. This is especially true when for example painting snow on the roof of a house, which Vue isn’t so good at, or adding extra light and shade to an area of the image. Vue is after all a composition tool rather than a painting program. I don’t want the final scene looking too digital.

How to you sell your work? As prints on paper…canvas?

I am currently putting together a gallery of my work, to sell as prints of all sizes.

Ambitions or goals for the future?

I have done some work for magazines and a couple of book covers, and hope to continue in this area; maybe even some environments for video games or movies.

Nice, good luck with that.  And tThanks for taking the time to chat with AD Mag.  I look forward to seeing your work evolve.

Many thanks.

____________________________________________

website

Village Sunset

Village Sunset

***

